About the Artist-in-Residence Program

The Fabric Workshop and Museum (FWM) invites contemporary artists to create new work using experimental materials and techniques. This internationally acclaimed Artist-in-Residence Program hosts emerging and established regional, national, and international contemporary artists who have a demonstrated commitment to innovation and exploration. To that end, FWM supports artistic experimentation by providing honorariums and materials to artists, and employing its facilities and staff to address their creative needs.

Artists-in-residence are drawn from all disciplines, including painting, sculpture, architecture and design, conceptual and installation art, performance, and video. Working collaboratively with FWM's staff of printers and technicians, artists are introduced to new techniques, materials, and resources, and are thus able to realize projects that would not otherwise be possible. Through this collaborative creative process, artists stretch the boundaries not only of their own work, and of the creative possibility of the various media, but also of the larger development of contemporary art.

How Artists-in-Residence are Chosen

Artists are invited by the Artistic Director in consultation with FWM's Artist Advisory Committee. The Committee meets 1-2 times a year to recommend, review and select artists for upcoming residences.

Artist Advisory Committee:
John Ravenal, Chairman
Ian Berry
Francesco Bonami
Daniel Byers
Valerie Cassel Oliver
Mel Chin
Paolo Colombo
Kathie DeShaw
Matthew Drutt
Russell Ferguson
Jennifer Gross
Paul Ha
Ann Hamilton
David Allen Hanks
Jun Kaneko
Tina Kukielski
Rick Lowe
Lisa Phillips
Mark Rosenthal
Paul Schimmel
Bennett Simpson
Patterson Sims
Robert Storr
Olga Viso
Yoshiko Iwamoto Wada
Kara Walker


Officers and Members